Free Translation for a Friend

A talented friend is starting a site to sell handmade bags, did some quick translation for her. She told me to not be so literal and edit as needed, so the translation is less faithful to the original and hopefully closer to what she meant to say.

******
Welcome to Ming’s Boutique

歡喜心動手做包包,Ming’s Boutique 存屬業餘性質,分享給朋友們工作以外的生活情趣,也歡迎對手工布包有興趣的朋友們 常來逛逛。大部份的包包做給自己用或送人,也接受朋友指定製作。因為,大部份的布是零碼布,僅有一至兩個,恐無法再買到相同的布料,因此,朋友指定製作的都以本人的美感經驗量身訂作。

Ming’s boutique was born out of my love for handmade art. I began it as a hobby. My creations are shared with friends who see the bags as a reminder to live life more leisurely. I welcome everyone who loves fabric art and goodies, please visit often! I gave away a lot of bags to friends, I also take custom orders. Most fabrics I use are unique and hard to find again, so making the same bag is pretty much impossible. If I custom make a bag for a friend, I often match the style to her lifestyle and personality as well.

About Me

媽媽手巧,無論小洋裝或是冬天毛衣,小時候姐妹倆的衣服都是媽媽的愛心傑作。小時不懂事,總嫌媽媽衣服做的不合身,老是大一號,或是跟妹妹穿得一模一樣。如今,母親不在了,才知道自己是多麼幸福,而且,完全沒學到媽媽的好手藝。

My mom was a very talented woman, she often made sweaters and dresses for my sister and I. Many things we wore while growing up came from her loving hands. I didn’t appreciate it at the time and complained when something didn’t fit right or was too big, or if it was the same as my sister’s. Now that she’s passed on, I’ve realized how lucky I was and how I didn’t learn much of her craft.

因緣之下,有機會跟惠芬媽學裁縫,從此,少了逛街的樂趣,倒是多了個逛布店的喜悅;少了些畫畫的時間,多了份做裁縫的新鮮。對我而言,無論畫畫或是裁縫都讓我有份專注的心,那份沈靜是與自己最好的對話。

By chance (or fate?), I learned sewing from Huifen’s Mom. My love of shopping for clothes turned into a love of shopping for fabrics. Whatever time I didn’t spend on painting anymore I spent on the sewing machine. For me, whether drawing or sewing, I got the same kind of blissful focus that gave my mind peace.

由於學美術、教設計,愛看看世界,多一些些美感經驗。接觸裁縫後,喜歡玩布的搭配,如今,純屬好玩,非專職也非專業。

I majored in art, teach design, and I love to travel and see the world. My travels have shown me what to appreciate and love in art. Sewing gave me the opportunity to combine fabrics in unexpected ways, so far, it has been a fun ride, not a professional nor fulltime obligation.

一年夏天,看到惠芬背了個她媽媽做的亮眼布包,輕巧又易清洗。因此,惠芬媽便成了我學裁縫的師傅了。以前,只會畫畫,不會別的。如今,工作之餘,除了畫畫,最開心的事就是做做裙子、布包了。

One summer, I saw Huifen with a gorgeous bag her mom made, it was light and easy to clean as well. Her mom soon became my sewing mentor. I only knew how to draw and design before, but now, whenever I’m free from work, what makes me happiest is to make bags and skirts.

第一個為自己做的布包包,遠觀是蠻像回事兒的。

The first bag I made didn’t look too bad, from a distance. 🙂

小時候很喜歡的花襯衫,如今不敢穿了,但仍非常喜歡這塊花布,學裁縫第一天,尋求師傅意見,改造了這件衣服,居然,畫腐朽為神奇的,成為實用的布包包,這款包可雙面使用。

A favorite shirt of mine from childhood is now too loud to wear, but I still adore the fabric. What to do? The first day I learned sewing, I turned the shirt into a bag with my mentor’s help. Now it’s a reversible bag!

阿嬤布花,記憶裡小時候的被單,如今成了流行的表徵。阿嬤布花的這型袋款都可找到一樣的布料。

Floral prints from blankets and curtains of years past are now trendy again, these symbols of style can be seen in my bags.

Leave a Reply

